Guess Who’s Back? + Rock ‘n Roll Half Recap

Wow.  I haven’t published a blog post since my birthday–that was 11 days ago.  I do apologize.  You might not have noticed I was gone…that’s  okay too.  It has been a complete whirlwind in the life of Logan.  I had a great opportunity arise last week and I had to spend a lot of time preparing.  It may be an opportunity I have the pleasure of discussing in further detail–and it may not.  We shall see! (No, I’m not talking babies so we can all hop off that topic.)  I’ve also been teaching spin on Tuesday nights and I’ve spent a lot of time working on our Dancing with the Aiken Stars routine.  Two weeks and counting!!

This weekend, Matt and I packed up and headed to Savannah, GA with some friends.  Myself and Allison signed up for the Savannah Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon, while our friend Alicia signed up for the full marathon (mad props, dawg).

photo 1 (13)

Allison, Alicia, and Me

 

Here’s some footage of my first big race expo experience…

photo 4 (7)

I was quite mesmerized by this volcano…

  photo 3 (11)

photo 2 (13)

I’ve talked about this race a few times.  To be completely honest, my body was totally unprepared for this.  But since I knew what to expect mentally, I felt fine about the race.  I say that…but I could tell I was really anxious about it the day before.  I was kinda cranky and so “over it.”  Then, I found out that we had to be parked downtown by 5:30 am, which meant we had a 3:45 wake up time since we had to drive about 30 minutes to the destination.  I thought I was going to throw up.  Surprisingly (to myself and the girls), I woke up and was quite pleasant.  I was actually really excited to race again.  Hell, I hadn’t spend the time training so I wasn’t even bored with running!  I just kept wondering how my body would react…

I felt like I had been up for an entire work day by this point...

I felt like I had been up for an entire work day by this point…

This was such a FUN race.  Probably my favorite half.  I did, however, enjoy the after-race festivities of the Zooma half in January more.  It catered to women…enough said.  My body was fine until miles 7-8 hit.  I had actually predicted this–I knew I could push out a good 6-7 miles.  Miles 8-13 were really one of those light jog, walk-run type things. And I was perfectly fine with that!  My hips were telling me to cool it and I was just having fun.  Sure, the competitive side of me kept saying “push it,” but my hips started hurting so badly that I just couldn’t.  Thank goodness Mich Ultra ever so smartly placed this inflatable around mile 11–I needed the motivation!

photo 5 (5)

All in all, I really enjoyed this race.  I know I talk a lot of smack about running,but my racing days aren’t over.  They are for a while though.  I miss weight training and spinning–and I just don’t have the time in my schedule to fit ALL of those activities in.  So I’m getting back to my basics for a while.

photo 3 (10)

I was super grateful to have Matt and his buddy Chunky there to meet me at the finish line…it helps when you have cheerleaders waiting!!

photo 2 (12)

By the way, Allison PR’d at this race!! Way to go!!

After the race, we stuffed our faces and since we realized we had been up for basically 10 hours, we decided to take a much needed nap.  Then we got all dolled up and hit the town.  I absolutely love Savannah.  Oh, I also have to mention KT Tape here.  Allison uses it and decided to tape up my calves the night before the race since they tend to bother me a lot when I run…no matter how much I stretch.  Survey says?  Ding ding ding!  KT Tape is the way to go. My calves never once bothered me during the race!

photo 4 (6) photo 2 (11) photo 1 (12)

What’s the best/most fun race you have ever run (ran?–sorry, not a grammar goddess).  I feel good now…like I’m getting back to my blog game. Let’s hope I didn’t just jinx myself.  But hey, when things get busy and crazy, you have to make sacrifices.  With all that I had going on, blogging wasn’t a priority. And if that happens from time to time, it’s okay.  It isn’t how I make a living–I basically just want to tell you everything I do 🙂

PS.  I have a little request.  If you’re a person of faith, please please say some serious prayers for a coworker.  He’s a top executive at my company and had a heart attack almost 2 weeks ago.  He’s been in ICU since.  Apparently he went extended periods of time without oxygen to the brain.  You don’t stay in ICU for 2 weeks because of a heart attack and stint.  This is a man that looked like the almost-perfect image of healthy.  Early 60s, walked/ran 2-3 miles EVERY morning on his treadmill before work, and has never, let me repeat–never missed a day of work since the 70s.  Seriously.  It is breaking all of us to see this man not be himself–and we aren’t sure that he will ever return to that state again.  We all work very closely together…our “family” doesn’t seem complete right now.  So please, add this situation to your prayer list.  He needs it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Dancing with the Aiken Stars, Friends, Lessons, Life, Race, Spinning, spouse, Training, Travel, Weekend, Workout

Leave a Reply

