“I run from the dark, the dark, the dark…”

If you sing that to the tune of Lady Gaga’s Applause, it sounds awesome.  Last night, I got home from work a little after 6:00.  I had decided that I was going on a date with the pavement and a bad ass playlist and nothing was going to stop me. I was actually in the mood for running and I was ready to bring it.  I knew I needed to get going quickly, though, because it is starting to get dark earlier.  I know I might seem tough, but I’m a sissy when it comes to being in the dark…alone.  I headed to the Greenway, which is a paved trail that literally runs from one side of our city to the other.  This was fine and dandy for ohhhhh, about 5 minutes.

I was already booking it because I knew it was going to get dark pretty quickly and I wanted to at least get in 5-6 miles. Well that wasn’t happening outside.  I ran almost a mile and started to get really spooked so I turned around and hauled butt back to my starting point.  I ended up running my fastest 1.5 miles yet (right at 14 minutes) simply because I was running out of sheer terror.  And okay, 1.5 miles in 14 minutes might sound pretty crummy to most of you but I’m a 10 minute miler all the way around.  So I was impressed with myself…especially considering I haven’t been training like I should be.  I came to the conclusion that if my next half-marathon (November) was run in the dark and complete silence, I would come in under 2 hours (not).  But seriously, some of you can run in the dark.  I, on the other hand, can’t handle it.  It’s a great way to push yourself though.

Since I hadn’t been able to get my 5-6 miles in on the pavement, I hurriedly drove over to Gold’s Gym which was like 5 minutes from where I was running.  I quickly got on the treadmill and turned out another 3.5 miles.  So all in all, I got 5 miles in last night.  I actually felt great about it.  I suppose the adrenaline running through my body from running in complete terror carried over to my efforts on the treadmill and I booked it.  I really enjoyed my run last night.  I also love my music.  Here is my go-to playlist right now…I just hit shuffle and go.

photo 3

photo 1photo 4 photo 5

There may be a duplicate song or two up there…just means I really like it 🙂  I was happy to get in a run longer than 3 miles because that’s all I’ve had time for lately.  Time…schedules…ugh…that’s a story for another day.  I hope y’all have a great Thursday…It’s a busy day for me after work.  DANCE PRACTICE!

PS.  I don’t know how some of you handle running in the dark.  Even if I had a flashlight, I’d still be terrified.  Kudos to you!

2 Comments

Filed under Dancing with the Aiken Stars, Music, Playlist, Run

2 responses to ““I run from the dark, the dark, the dark…”

  1. I would be scared to run in the dark too! The neighborhood where our house is is nice, but it’s not big, so if I want to run farther than a mile, I HAVE to go on the streets outside of our little “bubble.” It’s not like it’s ACTUALLY a scary place, but some of the houses/people I see scare the crap out of me and I just couldn’t bring myself to run around the area in the dark… Actually, even in my neighborhood I’d be scared to get sprayed by a skunk or something because that is my life.

Leave a comment