So, what is a sprint?

After I tackled another lovely Monday at the office, I taught a 30 minute spin class at Oxygen.  Here’s the playlist I used (not including the cool-down):

photo (8)Yes, I do realize I have some of the strangest names for my playlists on the planet.  Who names their playlist “Octoba?!”  The same girl that has one called “Summaaa Runnin'” and I can’t forget about “Spring Fevaaaa,” followed by embarrassing emojis.  Anyway, after class, I decided I needed to get some running in for the day.  I really wanted to run outside because the weather was feeling perfect but since it is getting dark earlier, I decided to head over to Gold’s and hit the treadmill.

I promised Matt I would be home by 8:30 for dinner so I was only able to get in about 3.5 miles.  I tried to make the most of it, though.  Which brings me to my next (first) question…what is a considered a sprint?  The fastest speed I hit last night was 7.4.  I have no idea if that’s good or bad.  But it felt good to me and it felt SAFE.  I’ve gone up to 8 before and thought “you may be that girl that slips and busts her face open in the middle of the gym.”  So I felt good at 7.4…not comfortable, but safe.  To me, that was a sprint.  I would run about a minute at that speed and back it off, over and over again.  So, was that sprinting?  I really have no idea.  I’m hoping you can guide me a bit here.

This morning, poor Matt had to get up for a 6 am meeting on his day off.  There was a good side of this though…he brought me home a sausage biscuit.  Big girl added a slice of cheese to it and put it in the microwave.  How could I say no?  He was being considerate…

So yeah, I just wanted to throw that random piece of information out there. Sausage biscuit.  I know, I floor you with my life.  Please, do tell, what’s the weirdest name of a playlist on your phone or iPod?!

 

3 Comments

Filed under Cook, Marriage, Music, Playlist, Run, Spin, Spin Routine, Spinning, spouse, Training, Workout

3 responses to “So, what is a sprint?

  1. I am not very creative with my playlist names 😦 But I do think that sounds like a sprint to me 🙂 I stick comfortably to like 6.0 🙂

  2. Your playlist name just made my day – ha! I’ve never dared to go above a 7 out of fear of being the girl who busts her face, but I say sprinting is different for everyone. I consider mine a few notches above my ‘fast’ pace.

  3. Love the playlist name! And sprinting is really just whatever is a fast speed for you that is challenging, but comfortable (contradicting much?). I guess it’s just like what you said–fast, but not so fast that you fly off the treadmill.

Leave a Reply

