Started from the bottom…

Earlier this year, I could have sang along to that song and meant it…”started from the bottom now <I’m> here…”  Now, not so much.  I trained my butt off last year for my first half-marathon in January.  I really had started from the bottom. Yesterday, I realized I’m back at the bottom.  I told y’all I was going to run 5 miles yesterday.  Well, I made it 5 miles but I wasn’t running the entire time.

I remember a time when 5 miles was my favorite distance…not too long, not too short.  Yesterday, I was good to make it 2 miles before I had to take a break.  2 MILES.  Seriously people.  My grandma can do that for goodness sake.  I ran/walked the next 3 miles until I called it quits.  I was so disappointed and mad at myself.  I had worked so hard before and I let it all go.  Then again, I went out yesterday with the mentality that this was something I had to do.

Training for me becomes a have to, another job, just another thing I must do in order not to fail.  I’ve told y’all before and I’ll say it again…I hate training.  I won’t give up and I will do well in November.  I’ve already committed and paid for the race so there is no looking back.  But after that, I want to get back to MY basics.  I was born (so to speak) to ride a bike (okay, a stationary bike).  I LOVE to spin.  Training for races keeps me off the bike which in turn kinda pisses me off.  Training also keeps me from doing things like yoga and barre, two other activities I love.  I don’t have enough time during the week to fit all of those activities in and still train.

I love the actual races and I am excited for the Savannah half…too bad it isn’t that easy.  Too bad we can’t just get out there and GO.  When I first started running, it was so exciting and new…something I had never pushed my body to do before.  I’ve done the 5Ks, the 10Ks, and now the halfs.  After this, I’m done guys.  At least for a while.  Until the actual urge to race comes back.  If I run, I want it to be because I want to…not because I feel like I have to.  Not to mention, races aren’t cheap.  Okay, you runners out there are probably all pissed at me now and think I’m giving up.  I’m not…running just isn’t a passion of mine just as spinning may not be a passion of yours.

Now that I’m over that rant, I want to show you why I should never wear shorts in public…

photo 2 (2)That red circle encompasses the bruises I found yesterday.  I’ll be out and see cute girls with great looking legs…and then there’s busted ol’ me.  Bruised up, veined up, mosquito bites everywhere.  I’m like a 12 year old boy mixed with an 80 year old lady.  How do I end up like this?  Anyway, after my 5 miles run/walk, I came home to a delicious well-plated meal by Chef Spires…

photo 1 (2)I thought this was a step in the right direction.  We usually have rice or some other starch and he steered away from those.  He seasoned the chicken with some of my box wine (awww yeah) and some Italian dressing.  It was delish.  I’m so glad the Lord paired me with a man that can cook…andddd I’m sure you are wondering why we have paper plates from Papa John’s.  Matt worked there for ten years.  We are on our last pack though…guess I’m going to have to start buying our own!!

Can anyone remotely relate to how I feel about training/running? Maybe you feel that way about another activity. Let me know.

7 Comments

Filed under Advice, Failure, Food, Lessons, Race, Run, Spin, Spinning, spouse, Training, Workout

7 responses to “Started from the bottom…

  1. Nikki

    First of all, let me say that you and Presley crack me up. As a fellow southern belle (from VA…yall probably consider that yankee territory), I love the phrases and expressions you use. Your blogs are always entertaining. I, too, am struggling with starting all over again when it comes to running. I try to remind myself that if I did it before, I can do it again. No onese else is going to be as hard on us as we are on ourselves anyway. Hang in there…I’m sure you’re doing great!

  2. Girl, don’t sweat the run. I’m always one to get frustrated with myself when I get back into things after a long time off too. I love that you still have a motivated and positive attitude though, because you WILL rock that half next month! But yeah, do the activities that you truly enjoy. Running isn’t my cuppa tea either. I much prefer circuit workouts or dance.
    Also, it’s awesome that your husband cooks!!

  3. I feel the same way about running. A race is great and all, but the training just sucks. I also like doing OTHER forms of exercise so much more that I get all bitter that I have to run… it sucks the fun right out of it!

Leave a Reply

