What I’ve learned so far…

Before I get to the point of this post, I want to share my playlist from yesterday’s Ripped Ride class…

photo (1) photo (31)I’ll post the specifics for each song later…we had a great class!

So, I have been blogging since July 2nd…almost at the two month mark.  It seems like much longer already!  But I wanted to reflect on a few things I have learned and noticed over the last two months.  It’s a short list but I think it will be interesting to see how it grows in the future…

  1. People like pictures.  Okay, like pictures.  A lot.  One thing I can’t stand is to read a lengthy post with no pictures.  I’m like a child…didn’t you want to read all the books with pictures when you were little?  I don’t think that changes much as we get older.  I don’t care if it’s a picture of the sky.  Or a selfie.  (We all know you take selfies in the car…)
  2. People like food.  This is one area that I need to work on…but hey, I never said my blog would be about eating healthy or recipes.  I. Don’t. Cook.  I’m like the wife from Talladega Nights, except I’m not as rich, hot, or bitchy.  People love recipes and seeing pictures of food.  I do have a folder in my email where I save most of your posts with good recipes (by good, I mean those that my husband and I would consider eating).  In the back of my mind, though, I know I may not ever refer to them.  Not because I don’t like them or appreciate the effort you put in to sharing them…but because i. don’t. cook.  One day…one day…
  3. People like real.  It is obviously hard to get to know someone via blog posts…so don’t make it all about the fitness or all about the diet.  I want to get to know you outside of all that.  Maybe I’m just creepy.  We all have an intended focus for our blogs but it’s okay to sometimes go outside of that realm.  The only thing that I am keeping off limits with my blog is my marriage.  It could be the best relationship in the world but you won’t read much about it.  That’s just something I don’t feel should be shared with a bunch of strangers, even if I feel like I know some of you.  Some people say wayyyy too much via social media about their spouse and marriage and it causes problems.  I’m sorry, good or bad, sharing it with the world via social media includes very fine boundaries.  Now, what I do like are success stories.  Those can be inspiring.  So, your marriage fell off track and you fixed it? Great, you may help others that are in your previous position.  Pissed off at your spouse and want to bad-mouth them? Keep that off the internet.  It’s called respect.  If you’re doing it in a joking manner, that’s one thing.  But I think you guys know what I’m talking about.  No one likes a Debbie Downer, a Negative Nancy, a Fun Sucker…okay, I’ll stop.

Like I said, it’s a short list.  And this is just what I’ve noticed over the last two months that like (and dislike) about blogging…you may completely disagree and that’s fine.  Please tell me about it, whether you agree or not! (Seriously though, just give me pictures.  I’m like a child…why do you think I’m addicted to Instagram and not Facebook?  Pictures, people, pictures! :)) Happy Hump Hump Hump Day!!

5 Comments

Filed under Blog, Cook, Lessons, Life, Marriage, Music, Playlist, Random Thoughts, Spin, Spin Routine, Spinning, spouse, Uncategorized, Workout

5 responses to “What I’ve learned so far…

  1. For someone that loves pics, this one hardly has any…. Just sayin’
    Also, two thumbs up for not one but TWO Gaga songs in your mix!! 😀

  2. Totally agree! And those are things that I like in a blog too!

  3. I’m a new blogger too and I completely agree with that list! I keep saying to myself: add more pictures! Stop with all the words…but sometimes it’s hard! When it comes down to it, I do think content matters the most. But photos definitely help! Congrats on getting through the first couple months of blogging! It’s such a joy to read 🙂

  4. I’m a new blogger too and I completely agree with that list! I keep saying to myself: add more pictures! Stop with all the words…but sometimes it’s hard! When it comes down to it, I do think content matters the most. But photos definitely help! Congrats on getting through the first couple months of blogging! It’s such a joy to read 🙂

Leave a Reply

