80s Night, Mini-Day Trip, & Slip-n-Slides

Well, let the weekend recap begin…

Friday: My day immediately got better when my cousin Lexi, her friend Sierra, and my buddy Gary all met me for lunch.

I wouldn't usually take lunch photos but the girls love to have a picture of absolutely everything.  I didn't mind :)

I wouldn’t usually take lunch photos but the girls love to have a picture of absolutely everything. I didn’t mind 🙂

Then it was time to prepare for 80s night…

photo (14)

Me and Dad.

Me and Dad.

The lighting in the joint kinda sucks so the pictures I have aren’t great.  But the bar owner took some with his camera and they will turn out better.  Just may take a month for him to post them online and for me to steal them…

Saturday: We got dressed and hit the road for Bamberg (about an hour and a half away from home).  Matt’s new job requires him to drive to Bamberg a couple times a week so he wanted to show me his route, and get a little more familiar with it himself.

"Here come the Men in Black..."

“Here come the Men in Black…”

photo (8) photoUnfortunately, the gallery was closed by the time we went by.  But we did hit up an awesome diner for lunch.

photo (9)

By awesome, I mean good ol’ country cookin’ awesome.  I walked in and was immediately turned off by the fact that it was buffet style.  But after some looking around, I thought, hell, why not.  So we dug right in.

photo (15)

I’m not going to say which number plate this was for me.  But this was the only plate that didn’t make me look like a complete food hoarder.

Then we went bowling.  I’m a member of our local Chamber’s Ambassador group so this was one of our outings…

photo[6]Mr. Serious and Mrs. Professional.  Right.  We had a great time though.

Sunday: It was definitely a Sunday Funday for this girl.  I woke up around 8:30 and decided to go for a quick run before it was time to get ready for church.  I would usually never  do that.  I cherish the time I have to lounge around in bed on the weekends.  But this Sunday, for whatever reason, I woke up and actually wanted to run.  I haven’t had that urge in quite some time.  I used to really enjoy running.  It all changed when I started racing.  I do enjoy the 5Ks and smaller races but once I had to train for a half-marathon, I began to really dislike running…period.  I enjoy the race aspect so much!  Too bad you can’t get there without the training.  I mean, I could.  But that would be a disaster and/or injury waiting to happen.  Training for races just feels like another “have to.” Another thing Logan has to add to her plate.  Another thing to stress Logan out if she doesn’t do it like she’s supposed to.  After the Savannah Rock n’ Roll half in November, I am donezo with racing for a while.  Like I said, I enjoy the race itself but I’m just over it.  I really like spinning and weight training a lot more. Plus, I don’t see changes in my body with running.  I do with everything else.  So why continue to push myself to do something I don’t enjoy?!  Is there something (fitness related or not) that you continue to push yourself to do, even when you don’t enjoy it?  Why do you still do it?  I just think I should enjoy my workouts.  And I really enjoyed the impromptu run I did yesterday morning.  I can’t wait to get back to the point where I run because I want to.

After a 2 mile run and church, we had a “cousin day.”  My cousin Gracie is about to leave for Lander University to start college so we all wanted to get together one last time.  Lander isn’t that far away but when you’re used to being within 5-10 minutes of your family members, it’s a long way.  I have to say how grateful I am for my cousins.  I’m the oldest of 16 grand kids and we all make a point to keep in touch and stay close.  We all piled in the car and headed to Buffalo Wild Wings for lunch.

photo[1]2Megan was there too but she was behind the car trying to fix one of the third row seats.  Sorry I left you out of the pic, Megs.  I really don’t know how this came about but after lunch and some running around, we ended up doing this…

photo[1]I haven’t had that much fun in a long time.  Just good ol’ family fun.  My grandparents live across the street from the yard we were in so they came over and brought more dish soap.  Then some aunts and uncles showed up.  My grandparents called them just to tell them to come over and watch all of us act like fools.  I think we ranged in age from 11-25.  It was a blast.  Matt wasn’t there to join me but that’s because he was working on his golf game.  All in all, it was a great weekend spent with family.  Just wish I had another day to lay around and get some rest!!

 

 

3 Comments

Filed under family, Food, Life, Morning Workout, Run, Spinning, Travel, Uncategorized, Weekend, Workout

3 responses to “80s Night, Mini-Day Trip, & Slip-n-Slides

  1. We share the same feelings towards running. I enjoy going for shorter runs, but I don’t think I’ll EVER feel compelled to run a half marathon again… I guess I should never say never though!

  2. I am not a fan of running myself. I can totally handle short distances (3 miles tops), but I can never really get into the groove with running, so I don’t bother too much. I prefer circuit workouts and strength training like you. Looks like a super fun weekend for ya, girl! Lovin’ the 80s attire 🙂

Leave a Reply

