Weekend Workouts = Non-Existent

Weekend workouts have become non-existent for me.  I feel like I bust it all week and then once the weekends roll around, it’s an all out veg fest minus the workouts.  Kinda counteracts all the hard work I did during the week, right?  It’s not that I don’t want to workout…it’s that I don’t want to blow off other fun things that include friends or family to go workout.  Yes, I could go first thing Saturday morning, but who wants to get up early if they don’t have to on a Saturday after getting up early all week?  I don’t have kids…I should sleep in while I still can.  And then Sundays…I like to get up and go to church.  So I’ve already showered and gotten ready for the day.  Why would I go get all sweaty, and then have to shower again for Sunday dinner at the in-laws?!  These are the things I tell myself in order to justify my lack of weekend workouts.

These aren’t good excuses…I know.  Just about every week, I skip workouts on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays.  That doesn’t mean I always workout the other 4 days a week.  I almost always workout at least 3 days a week.  The other 4 are a gamble.  So is that good or bad?  I guess the answer to that is up to me and if I’m happy with my progress.  That being said, the answer to that question is BAD.  So here goes it…I am going to start scheduling at least one workout a weekend going forward.  Whether it is a 30 minute run around the neighborhood or a spin class on a Sunday afternoon…I’m going to do it (unless of course I’m out of town or ya know, stuff comes up).  I’m saying it publicly so I can be held accountable by all of you 🙂  Does anyone else have “the weekend workout blues” like I do?  What have you done or are you going to do about it?

Now, onto the fun stuff that happened this weekend…I told you on Friday that we were having a girls’ night, and that we did.  Tori and Aubrie didn’t make it but 3 fun blondes and an even “funner” brunette did.  We had a blast.

photo (10)

I really like margaritas.

photo (12)

I know we look like trouble…we might be.

Then, we were off to Beth and Nathan’s gender reveal party yesterday!  You can tell what I thought the answer was going to be…

photo (11)

Andddd, I was right!!  They are having another sweet baby girl.  I’m ecstatic.

photo (13)

Too bad I didn’t catch the balloons but Beth’s face is priceless…

photo (14)

I couldn’t be happier for them.  Today, we lounged around and headed to lunch with Matt’s mom at Longhorn.  For some reason, we have Longhorn’s gift cards out the yazoo.  I’m not complaining…then we headed off to the flea market for whatever reason.  The flea market has changed quite a bit since the last time I went but I did find this bath resurfacing place and saw this cool old sink…

photo (15)

That was the most interesting thing I saw on our adventure in 90 degree heat.  Now we are off to eat yet again.  This time at Matt’s dad’s house.  His step-mom is a mean cook…good southern cookin’.  Yes, I’m still full from lunch.  But I’ll find a way to get a few bites in.  OH!  I almost forgot about True Blood.  I know one thing, I might have to sell an organ before I give up HBO.  Dramatic, yes.  Also very serious.  I hope y’all had a good weekend!!

1 Comment

Filed under Cook, Food, Friends, kids, Life, Spinning, spouse, Weekend, Weight, Workout

One response to “Weekend Workouts = Non-Existent

  1. I definitely have a case of the weekend workout blues. Like bad. I think for me, since I’m training for a marathon, I will be extra motivated to wake up and get a long run out of the way, but I’ve found that if you have a friend to exercise with it could be counted for socializing. Although it is a bit more difficult to “catch up” in a group class compared to going on a run. If all else fails, be proud of yourself for kicking ass during the week and enjoy the relaxation time 🙂

Leave a Reply

