Weight…numbers suck.

Happy Friday party people.  I don’t have a ton to update you on about my life.  I know I said “farewell to crossfit” last week, but I totally lied.  Presley really wanted me to go with her one last (yeah right) time on Wednesday so I totally caved.  It’s really hard to turn crossfit down.  I would be 100% addicted if I didn’t have to sell a kidney to pay for it.  Anyway, I went to a Young Professionals event last night with coworkers so that meant I drank too much cheap wine and ate meatballs and cheese for dinner.  Then I went home and my cousin Megan came over to drink more of my own cheap wine with me.  Great night but definitely a little tired today.  Moving on…

I have been thinking a lot about numbers lately.  And how ridiculous it is to base your fat/skinny/fit on those numbers.  I weigh more now than I ever have.  I’m 5’4 and weight 145 lbs.  Every time I go to the doctor, I check out the BMI chart and I’m totally overweight for my height.  But I don’t think I look overweight.  I mean, I do got a donk.  Some might say I’m a little thicky thick.  But I hear people talk about their weight or someone else’s and it’s all “omg, 150 lbs?  what a fatty!”  And it’s totally not true.  Muscle weighs a hell of a lot and I would rather weigh more because of muscle than focus on weighing less and losing muscle mass.

Megan and I were talking about numbers last night and it compelled me to write this post.  I lost 15 lbs during my wedding planning season 2 years ago and got down to about 125.  That was a little too skinny for me.  And people noticed.  As stupid as it sounds, people (especially Matt) would say “Logan, you’ve lost your ass.  Put some weight back on.”  But as most of you married girls out there know, you go crazy about weight loss during wedding season.  And so I did…I might have put more weight back on than I intended simply because I wasn’t feeling all the pressure anymore, but I’m okay with that.  I would rather tone-up and muscle-up than lose the weight on the scale.  Does that make sense?  I guess what my jibberish is saying is don’t assume what the scale says means you’re skinny/fat/fit.  You could be too skinny.  Gasp…I know.  Or you may be a little heavier than you like.  Whatever it is, don’t judge your fitness level completely by what the scale says.  And don’t judge someone else either.  When I tell other people what I weigh, they freak.  I take it as a compliment but then I also realize “okay Logan, you aren’t as big as you think you might be.”  Or I tell myself that I wear 145-150 well.  I sound like I’m preaching…the suggestion I’m giving you is just as hard for me to act on as well.  I guess my main point is that fitness isn’t all in the numbers.  So don’t give yourself such a hard time because a number is higher than you want it to be.  Muscle is sexy!!  And remember, it weighs more.

So, what y’all got planned this weekend?  I have a busy one ahead so you probably won’t hear back from me until Sunday.  The girls are going out tonight and since I don’t really have any workout or food pics to post, I’ll introduce you to a few of my closest friends:

You know Presley and Allison by now.

p and a

Megan (on the right) is my cousin sister and this is our friend Tori.

me and to

And this is Aubrie.

aub

Things might get a little out of hand when all of us are around but I can tell you one thing, we are a hell of a lotta fun.  I’m sure I’ll be blowing my Instagram feed up tonight with all the greatness 🙂  Tomorrow, I’m headed to Columbia to do makeup for a bridal party (I also sell Mary Kay–‘notha story for ‘notha day) and then it’s off to my friend Beth’s gender reveal party!!  I’m so excited.  I think it’s another girl.  I’ll be sure to let you all know.  Do you have any cool gender reveal methods/stories?  They are doing cake.  I really hope to get a workout in Sunday since tomorrow will be a full day!

I hope everyone has a great weekend…be good or be good at it!!

7 Comments

Filed under Friends, Lessons, Life, Uncategorized, Weight, Workout

7 responses to “Weight…numbers suck.

  1. rununcensored

    I have been struggling with the numbers game too lately!!!! I’m super excited for girls night! Thanks for posting about weight and numbers! Love you!

  2. I agree! I have gained 4-5lbs recently but all my clothes fit better and I feel great. I used to put so much weight on my weight…wait, what? Haha. I am a big fan of listening to my body and going with how I feel…not some number my scale gives me. I embrace my booty! “Cosmo says yo fat? Well, I ain’t down with that!” Great post!

  3. Alison

    Totally 110% agree with you! I’m actually working on gaining more muscle now, not caring if my weight goes up!

  4. I love your butt and will be upset with you if you lose it again. 😉

Leave a Reply

