Red, White, and Blue

**Google reader is done, so make sure you follow me through Bloglovin!**

Working the day after any holiday should be illegal.  This is about as bad as working the day after Thanksgiving.  I wish I woke up at the lake this morning but I didn’t, so I am still going to make the best of this day.  Hey, at least it’s Friday.  We had a great July 4th.  After Matt and I loaded up the jet ski, we headed out to the lake to meet some friends.  If you weren’t aware, South Carolina is experiencing some crazy summer weather.  I heard on the radio this morning that we just had our wettest June yet, and July was looking the same.  Fantastic.  Despite some showers here and there, the weather was nice.  It never got too hot and somehow, I still got some sun through all the cloud cover.

We hopped on our friends’ boat and headed out into the open water.  The boys did some fishing while Presley and I listened to music and tried to distract them in every way possible.  We basically acted like we were 15.  Forever young right?!  I didn’t get many pics yesterday but here is what I have…

photo (8)

photo (9)

We took the red, white, and blue theme to a whole ‘notha level with our ensembles yesterday.  We like to be festive.  I’m bummed I forgot to get a picture with the hubby…not that he likes pics anyway so I’m sure he’s thrilled 😉

We had a great day at the lake.  I did learn some lessons yesterday:

  1. Always put the car in park.
  2. Don’t take the jet ski without a man.
  3. Don’t take the jet ski without a fully charged phone/GPS.
  4. Don’t take the jet ski, period.
  5. Most importantly, don’t swim with dogs you don’t know.

Now, I’m off to make this Friday a productive one.  Can’t wait to see what’s in store for the weekend…my brother, his wife, and my almost 2 year old niece are in town from Macon, GA, so I’m sure a little family bonding is in order!  I haven’t seen them since April.  I’m sure I’ll get at least one workout in this weekend.  I didn’t actually do what one would consider “working out” yesterday but if you only knew…it took a lot of power to operate that jet ski.  Hope y’all have a good weekend!!

Question: It’s hard for me to make myself workout on a holiday, and a day off from work!!  Were you able to get a workout in yesterday?

2 Comments

Filed under Fourth of July, Friends, Lake, Lessons, Life, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Red, White, and Blue

  1. Kim

    I found your blog through Run Pretty! Good for you for taking the plunge into the blogging world. I just did too actually! I didn’t work out yesterday. My gym was closed for the holiday, and I wasn’t about to wake up at the buttcrack of dawn to run before it got too hot if I had no real reason to be up that early! I did hit the gym this morning though, but still feeling blah from yesterday. Have a great weekend!

    • Running and I just aren’t best buds anymore. I don’t know how to get the “want” back for it. Especially with the heat and humidity. Congrats on your blog! (And I feel blah too, don’t feel bad 🙂

Leave a Reply

