Bone-in or Bone-out??

I wasn’t able to make it to my usual Tuesday gym classes yesterday (30 minute spin class followed by an hour of barre), so I hit the treadmill to get in a quick two miles.  Let me preface this running situation…I started running over a year ago and I really loved it.  I loved the 5Ks and then I decided to sign up for my first half-marathon.  I love the racing aspect of running but I absolutely loathe the training side of things.  Anyway, I haven’t gone for a run in at least two months so I had no idea how the next 20 minutes of my life was going to go.  It actually went really well.  I tried to maintain a speed between 6 and 7 the entire time.  I even got up to 7.4 which really thrilled me (is that considered sprinting?).  So anyway, I felt accomplished after that 2 mile run–I truthfully don’t believe I would have made it that far by hitting the pavement.

If you haven’t heard or downloaded this song yet, you need to.  One of my fellow spin instructors played it in a class and I “shazamed” it immediately.  If you don’t have the Shazam app, click here to download it.  I can’t live without it.  It’s one of my favorite new songs to spin to and I ran to it for the first time last night.  This really helped me push through the sprints!

photo67

girl look at that body…

Now, let’s get to the title of today’s post.  One thing you must know about me is that I am NOT a cook.  God knew exactly what he was doing when he put Matt in my life because that boy can cook!  And the best part about it is that he loves to do it.  Since he went to play basketball, I thought I would be a “good wife” and have dinner ready when he got home.  We had some pork chops thawing in the fridge so I thought I would cook those bad boys up.  I opened this pack of pork chops and thought “why are these things so big?”  In any event, I tossed them in the pan.  I got really concerned when I noticed that I could barely fit 2 pork chops in my usual stove-top pan.  I finally realized they still had the bones attached to them (yes, it took me that long to realize it…told yall, I’m not a cook).  This sent me on a downward spiral straight to frustration.  I’ve never cooked meat with the bones still attached.  Why would he buy bone-in pork chops?  I immediately thought “oh crap, he wanted to do something different with these and I’m wasting them by not knowing how to properly cook them.”  I was right.  He wanted to work some magic with those ‘chops and I wasted them on something that was edible, but not quite delicious.

This bone-in situation frustrated me so much!  Why had he bought them?  Why did I waste them?  Did I even cook them through (a.k.a. would we be sick from food poisoning later)?  Why was I letting this get to me?  As stupid as it was, I was mad all night about those pork chops.  And it’s all because I’m female.  That is usually the answer to everything.  Matt just laughed at me and told me “it’s okay honey, I cleaned my plate.”  It’s the little things in life that make marriage go ’round…

Today is a new day and the pork chop fiasco is behind us.  I am super excited about tomorrow’s 4th of July festivities, rain or shine!  All I’m going to say is it will include some of my faves, the lake, and jello.  I’ll tell you all about it on Friday 🙂

What are your plans for the holiday?  Annnd, do you ever get mad at food!?  😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Cook, Food, Life, Playlist, Run

Leave a Reply

