Thanksgiving: The Day I Inhaled a Small Child.

Sounds gross, but it’s true–okay, you know what I mean.  Seriously, yesterday, I ate so much that I thought I was going to be sick at one point.  I didn’t mean to. It just happened.  I also thought my stomach would explode and had trouble getting up from couches.  I realized that I don’t ever want to feel that way again until I’m extremely pregnant. I didn’t even remotely try to behave myself.  The food was there…it was yelling my name.  It was lonely.  Someone had to come to the rescue…

photo 1 (4)This was my very first plate of Thanksgiving from Mom’s on Wednesday night.  I was so glad to be able to eat somewhere Wednesday night.  Three meals yesterday would have certainly killed me.  Mom made a jam-up meal. You can guess that I made not one single thing.  I was supposed to be helping but I was too busy drinking wine and looking through old photo albums.  Mom didn’t mind–I was there.  That’s all she cared about.

Yesterday, we went to my Uncle’s house for lunch (well, 3:30 meal) and ate the BEST turkey.  Seriously, this man knows his cookin’.  I’ve had a lot of turkey experiences and I’m here to tell ya that fried turkey is the way to go.  Baked turkey is so dry that I have to drown it in gravy to get it down.  But this fried turkey was to die for.  We had eaten almost all the skin off before it was time to eat…whoops.  He fried 2 different turkeys: one with cajun seasoning and one full of Italian dressing and seasoning.  We actually never ate the latter.  Cajun is where it’s at.

photo 3 (3) photo 2 (4)My cousin Gracie (the tall one) is in town from Lander.  She’s the awesome volleyball player I told y’all about.  This is my cousin Lexi (Megan’s sister), Gracie, our Papa (dad’s dad), and me.  I think Megan was inside cooking.  Sorry Megs, we were having too much fun playing to actually be productive.

photo (4)

I gave my Papa that sweater 25 years ago!!

What’s funny is that even though I’m an “adult” now, I still act like a big kid, especially on holidays.  Like I think I’m supposed to help cook and clean up now that I’m an adult buuuuut I just end up opting out.  Maybe when we have dinners at our house, things will be different.  Until then, I’m going to remain a big kid. Plus, I think the parents/grandparents still actually enjoy taking care of me :)

We headed over to Matt’s dad’s house around 6.  Whew…after this meal, I was donezo.  I really only got like a spoonful of a few things.  I’m just the type that will eat something at each house because otherwise, I feel rude. Anyone else with me on that?  I mean, it’s common courtesy.  We were there about 2 hours and I told Mathew we had to leave…I couldn’t keep those jeans on any longer without thinking they were actually going to cut into my gut.

Today, I feel large and in-charge.  And I’m so ready to detox.  But wait!  We have Friendsgiving tomorrow.  Guess that whole detox thing will just have to wait…

By the way, kudos to all of you that ran races and worked out yesterday.  You rock!!

 

5 Comments

Filed under Cook, family, Food, Friends, Holidays, Life

5 responses to “Thanksgiving: The Day I Inhaled a Small Child.

  1. lol, I was feeling the exact same way by the end of the day yesterday! I am also the same way when it comes to helping with food/cleaning up… nope, no thanks. lol

  2. Your plate of food looks GREAT!

  3. I would cut off a pinky toe to taste a fried cajun turkey, that contraption looks crazy.

  4. That all looks delicious! I have yet to try a fried turkey..but Cajun fried turkey?? Gotta get me some o’ that. And I agree— I always have at least a nibble of something whenever I got to someone’s house.

  5. That looks SO GOOD. I want to try fried turkey so badly!

Leave a Reply

